Posted in Books, Chapter Books, kidlit, Uncategorized, Writing, Writing for Kids

Chapter Book Challenge

mercy-watson

Read in the genre you wish to write.

This piece of writing advice pops up everywhere.  Although I’m currently working on a Middle Grade novel. I’m currently taking a course on how to write chapter books.

While I love picture books, they are exceptionally difficult to write and I’ve never felt compelled to even attempt one . Chapter books however, are targeted toward early readers and those kids who are older but not quite ready for  Middle Grade novels. And guess what…I’ve had a really good idea for a Chapter book. (Actually I’ve had quite a few).

The thing is, I need to read waaay more Chapter books before I attempt to write one.  So I’ve set myself a challenge:

Read 100 Chapter books.

Yes…you read that right.

No…I’m not kidding.

Yes…I’m attempting this with a 3-month old baby at home who refuses to be at peace anywhere except in my arms.

No…I’m not going to spend money on a bunch of chapter books. Libraries are great for all things bookish.

The objective here is to read as a writer.

I’m reading and paying attention to things like characterization, dialogue and plot development. For older readers (Age 7+), character development usually happens and plots are a tad more complicated. As I read I’m looking for tropes, overdone tropes, general themes (family, friends and school stories).

Chapter books feature a strong, action driven plotline. Kids (or animals) are always doing something. No-one is standing still reflecting about anything.

The stories are humorous, characters and situations relatable and the illustrations range from a tiny black and white sketch to full page color. Most are part of a series since kids fall in love with the characters and want to read more about them.

Word count

I’m also checking the word count of the chapter books. Early Readers (Ages 5-7) range from 500 to 9oo words. Chapter books for older readers can go up to 12,000. Anything over 12,000 enters the early middle grade realm.

Resource: I use AR Book Finder to check out word counts. This is a really helpful website that provides information such as reading levels and publisher related data. I highly recommend.

So far I’ve read 27 books

Feel free to take a look at the list below. I’ve enjoyed all the books I’ve read so far. Some more than others. I have quite a few “Classics” that I haven’t gotten to yet, like Judy Moody, Clementine, Ivy & Bean, Junie B. Jones etc.

I haven’t set a hard deadline but ideally I’d like to achieve this by end of December 2016.

Gasp!

Totally achievable with word counts in the 7,000 range. However the baby might have other ideas. You know what they say about making plans and the universe laughing…

Follow along on my journey and feel free to start your own reading challenge.

Early Reader (Ages 5-7)

Heidi Heckelbeck Casts a Spell Wanda Coven
Cam Jansen – The Green School Mystery David A. Adler
Piper Morgan in Charge Stephanie Faris
Nate the Great Marjorie Weinman Sharmat
Nate the Great and the Hungry Book Club Marjorie Weinman Sharmat
Nate the Great and the Halloween Hunt Marjorie Weinman Sharmat
Galaxy Zack – Space Camp Ray O’Ryan
The Ghost at Fire Station #6 Dori Hillstat Butler
Owl Diaries – Eva Sees a Ghost Rebecca Elliot
Owl Diaries – Warm Hearts Day Rebecca Elliot

Chapter Books (Age 7+)

Clubhouse Mysteries – Shadows of Caesar’s Creek Sharon M. Draper
Liberty Porter – First Daughter Julia Devillers
Frazzeled Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom Booki Vivat
My Weirdest School – Miss Daisy is Still Crazy Dan Gutman
Magic Tree House  – Dinosaurs Before Dark Mary Pope Osborne
Magic Tree House  – The Knight at Dawn Mary Pope Osborne
Magic Tree House – Dogs in the Dead of Night Mary Pope Osborne
The Mystery at the Coral Reef Harper Paris
Mercy Watson to the Rescue Kate diCamillo
Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride Kate diCamillo
Mercy Watson Fights Crime Kate diCamillo
Mercy Watson Princess in Disguise Kate diCamillo
Mercy Watson Something Wonky This Way Comes Kate diCamillo
A Case of the Clones Ada Hopper
Stink and the Great Guinea Pig Express Megan McDonald
Stink and the Midnight Zombie Walk Megan McDonald
Stink and the Shark Sleepover Megan McDonald
Author:

Writer. Wife. Mother. Not necessarily in that order.

Leave a Reply

